New Threads Only:  Add to Google Reader or Homepage
New Threads & Replies:  Add to Google Reader or Homepage
Forums are for serious investors only. GuruFocus Forum Rules.

Forum List » Guru News and Commentaries
Guru News, Stock picks and commentaries
New Topic Search
Goto Thread: PreviousNext
Goto: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Aflac - Value Idea Contest
Posted by: Gaffey (IP Logged)
Date: July 16, 2012 09:55AM

This is my first submission to the value contest. Seeing AFLAC (AFL) at the top of the Undervalued-Predictable screener got me very interested. I’m an engineer and I invest as a hobby. I’ve never had occasion to dig deep into the workings of an insurance company, so this was a bit of a learning experience for me. Here’s what I’ve learned about Aflac.

Aflac Inc. is a provider of supplemental insurance in the U.S. and Japan. In the U.S., accidental death/disability insurance and cancer insurance are responsible to 65% of the U.S. segment revenue. In Japan, cancer and other health insurance are responsible for 69% of the Japan segment revenue.

The market seems to be grossly undervaluing Aflac. The first place to look is the financial statement. Earnings and free cash appear strong. The company has very little debt. I was puzzled.

We see in 2011 that AFLAC experienced a drop in return on equity. Dupont analysis was applied to see why. Asset turnover seems to be on the decline, but nothing jumped out that says I shouldn’t invest in Aflac. Five factor analyses uncover that Aflac pays almost no interest on debt.

Insurance companies collect premiums from customers and then invest those premiums in bonds. Perhaps the market is undervaluing the company because of the quality of its investments. The market could also be undervaluing Aflac because the bond market is currently inflated.

Here are some charts that expose Aflac’s investment exposure: