New Threads Only:  Add to Google Reader or Homepage
New Threads & Replies:  Add to Google Reader or Homepage
Forums are for serious investors only. GuruFocus Forum Rules.

Forum List » Guru News and Commentaries
Guru News, Stock picks and commentaries
New Topic Search
Goto Thread: PreviousNext
Goto: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Passive Long Term Investing: The Best Gurus to Invest in
Posted by: smanchur (IP Logged)
Date: December 1, 2013 12:27AM

I, like everybody else on this site, am investing for the long term. I have been managing my own portfolio for the past 5 years. It is enjoyable. Lots of time is devoted to this exercise. I read articles on Gurufocus and follow the moves of top Gurus. I have had the time to do all of this because I am relatively young, and up until recently, single without children. In the next short while I will be getting married and having children of my own. My career is advancing and work hours are increasing. Available time to focus on companies and investing will dwindle.

What I wish to do with my portfolio from here is to manage around 25% of the funds (like I said, it is enjoyable), but for the other 75% I wish to give it to the masters and let them do what they do best. I have come to realize that it makes far more sense to give my capital to smart investors who have long-term proven track records that follow the value investing philosophy that I have loved from the beginning. If I can focus my time on accumulating capital, ie work, and then passively invest it with top Gurus, that should be a recipe for success, and greatly free up my time for family and other hobbies.